Swim the Fly (by Don Calame)

22 02 2014

swimthefly2There are not enough “funny” books for teens. When students come in and ask for a ‘funny’ book, I never know what I can recommend. Because my type of ‘funny’ hardly ever is their type of ‘funny’. I thought Libba Bray’s Going Bovine was at time so over-the-top hilarious (basically any book with garden gnomes is going to have a definite level of ‘funny’ to me), but when I give them that, they’re usually underwhelmed with the ‘fun’ part. Same thing with Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. I gave it to this one girl who just thought it was boring. OK, so she’d picked it up because apparently it was Greenesque (or so she’d heard on one of the YouTube channels she’s subscribed to) and maybe she just had the wrong expectations, but seriously… me, I laughed my ass off at times with that book. So yeah, funny books… hard to recommend them. But…but… I think I finally found it. I think I have found the book (maybe even the author) that will no doubt have them in stitches. Swim the Fly by Don Calame has to be that book.

Matt Gratton is 15 and with his 2 best friends, Coop and Sean, he always sets himself a summer goal, usually something stupid, but this year with them being 15 and all, they have set them the ultimate teenage boy dream as a goal: see a girl naked, like for real and live. Yeah, it’s going to be that kind of book, and that kind of funny, think There’s something about Mary, “boy” bathroom humor (like literally this time, the Y-bathroom scene is absolutely laugh-out-loud hilarious!).

Think humor is not enough in a book? Well there’s more: there’s a girl (actually more than one), there’s a grumpy grandpa looking for love (love Arlo!), there’s sport and being the underdog,… this book has everything my 15-year-old (boy) students want: crude sex jokes, poop humor (sorry, but it’s true), a bit of romance, a witty writing style with funny scene after funny scene which makes the pages fly past so they’re through with this book in no time.

I can’t believe it took me this long to find out about Don Calame! I’m definitely going to get the other books in this series: Beat the Band features Coop and Call the Shots features Sean as main character. So yeah, funny books… if this isn’t going to do it, I don’t know what will…

Oh yeah, I do want to mention the one negative thing about the edition I read. There must have been something wrong with the typesetting, because I got these weird words like in the picture below (always with the letter M). So damn annoying! If it’s not the typesetting, then edit this out asap! Because that part wasn’t funny…

swimthefly1

 

swimthefly3

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

