Re-read: As I Lay Dying (by William Faulkner)

18 08 2014

2014-08-18 14.07.14I read this the first time when I was somewhere between 16 and 20, I think. But to be honest, I understood fuck all about it then.

I only re-read it now, several university degrees later and after 2 more decades of reading (none in the least after reading Adam Rapp), and pheww… this book, this author: so far ahead of its/his time: structure, voice, topics, everything is so different from things that came before. And now I can see how much authors that came after him owe Faulkner.
Only now I can place this in the proper context.
What an overpowering book this is.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

